February 10-12, 2025  |  Colorado Convention Center   |  Denver, CO, USA

Close this search box.

Geo Week Awards Honoring Top Geospatial Achievements Presented at 2023 Event  

LIDAR Leader, Younger Geospatial Professional, and ASPRS Awards celebrate excellence in the geospatial market  

Denver, Colorado – USA, February 14, 2023 – To recognize and celebrate excellence across the geospatial industry, Geo Week hosts an awards ceremony to honor nominated leaders and distinguished professionals for their achievements. In partnership with LIDAR Magazine, Lidar News, and ASPRS, the Geo Week Awards were presented at the Geo Week Conference in Denver, CO, on February 14, 2023.  

The 2023 Geo Week Awards honor the achievements of individuals and teams working in the geospatial technology space. The ceremony included the Younger Geospatial Professional Award, Lidar Leader Awards, and the presentation of ASPRS Awards. 

“It is an honor for Geo Week to provide a platform to celebrate some of the brightest minds in the geospatial community, both up-and-coming innovators and those who have been leading the way for decades,” said Lora Burns, Senior Marketing Manager for Geo Week. 

  • The Younger Geospatial Professional Award was presented by Dr. Gene Roe, Founder and Managing Editor of Lidar News. This year’s recipient was Rebecca Lehman, Social Impact Program Manager for DroneDeploy.
  • The following LIDAR Leader Awards, were presented by Stewart Walker, managing editor of LIDAR Magazine: 
  • The winner of the Outstanding University Achievement in Lidar was presented to Queen’s University, Belfast, for their poster “Investigating the capabilities of handheld LiDAR in mapping and identifying underground spaces in the urban environment” 
  • The Outstanding Team Achievement in Lidar award is given to teams who have demonstrated a unique achievement in the area of service, project management, product development or other specialty. The winner of this award was Colorado Springs Utilities, accepted by CSU land surveyor Paul Clifton. 
  • The Outstanding Enterprise Achievement in Lidar is awarded to organizations for companies of 100 members or more in product development within geospatial lidar technology awarded to Cepton, Inc.
  • The Outstanding Innovation in Lidar Award is given to products, business models or technology on the market for less than one year, and it was awarded to the  “Bathymetric Unmanned Littoral LiDar for Operational GEOINT (BULLDOG)” sensor from Woolpert.  
  • The award for Outstanding Personal Achievement in Lidar is awarded to individuals who have made a significant impact to their organization, local, or national community, either through technical excellence, professional development, or innovation within the realm of geospatial lidar technology. The award was presented to Dr. Qassim Abdullah, Chief Scientist and Vice President at Woolpert. 

In-depth coverage to follow! Please stay tuned for interviews, videos, and more highlighting the distinguished achievements of the winners.  

Dr. Christopher Parrish, president of ASPRS, presented the following awards: 

  • The ASPRS Fellow Awards is conferred on ASPRS members for exceptional service in advancing the science and use of mapping science disciplines. The winners of the ASPRS Fellow Awards were; Dr. Amr Abd-Elrahman, Professor at the Gulf Coast Research and Education Center, School of Forest Resources and Conservation – Geomatics Program at the University of Florida, and Dr. Prasad Thenkabail, Senior Scientist with the United States Geological Survey Western Geographic Science Center. 
  •  The ASPRS Estes Memorial Teaching awards recognizes individual achievements in promotion of remote sensing and geographic information systems technology and applications through educational efforts. The award was bestowed upon Dr. Randolph H. Wynne, Professor in the Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation Department at Virginia Tech, and Dr. Timothy A. Warner, Professor Emeritus in the Department of Geology and Geography at West Virginia University (WVU). 
  • The ASPRS Lifetime Achievement Award (formerly the Honorary Lifetime Achievement Award and the Honorary Member Award) is the highest award an ASPRS member can receive. There are only 25 living Lifetime Achievement Awardees of the Society at any given time.  The award was bestowed on Dr. James Campbell, Professor in the Department of Geography at Virginia Tech, and Dr. Riadh Munjy Professor of Civil and Geomatics Engineering at California State University, Fresno (Fresno State). 
  • The ASPRS Photogrammetric Fairchild Award is designed to stimulate the development of the art of aerial photogrammetry in the United States. The award was bestowed on John Dolloff, senior scientist at KBR, in recognition of his contributions in applying advanced linear algebra, estimation theory, probability, and statistics to photogrammetric principles. 

About Geo Week    

Geo Week is part of a network of events and media for the global geospatial and built markets organized by Diversified Communications, a leading organizer of conferences, trade shows, and online media with 16 years in the technology arena. Geo Week, taking place February 13-15, 2023, reflects the increased integration between the built environment, advanced airborne/terrestrial technologies, and commercial 3D technologies. Event partners include ASPRS (American Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing) Annual Conference, ISPRS, MAPPS, USIBD (U.S. Institute of Building Documentation), and WGIC (World Geospatial Industry Council).    

Diversified Communications also produces Lidar & Geospatial Newsletter, 3D Technology Newsletter, AEC Innovations Newsletter, Geo Business Show (UK), Digital Construction Week (UK), Commercial UAV Expo and Commercial UAV News. For more information, visit www.geo-week.com.  


Lora Burns 

Geo Week Senior Marketing Manager  

[email protected] 

© Diversified Communications. All rights reserved.